At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past few decades, the entire world has experienced a population boom which has resulted in an unbalanced number of adolescents and senior citizens. While some completely support this change, others think that it is extremely disadvantageous for the society. I believe that the benefits of this trend overshadow its shortcomings.

To begin with, the primary demerit of this development is the unavailability of jobs for the younger generation. In other words, as the number of individuals finding jobs would increase, so would the difficulty in acquiring one which would hamper people from earning their livelihood. To illustrate, in the IT sector, the number of graduates have increased tremendously but the amount of employment opportunities have remained constant.

Despite of this, there are significant merits of this trend. Firstly, it would result in depletion of the orthodox views of the society. To elaborate, as the population of youngsters would increase, they would bring into light modern ideas and get rid of the baseless opinions and customs of the society which would pave way for a better tomorrow. Such a change is of extreme importance in the developing nations which are prone to conventional attitudes.

Moreover, the economy of the country where such a trend occurs would be greatly benefited. To elaborate, the younger population would come up with new business ideas which would result in setting up of new companies boosting the nation's economic development. To exemplify, facebook, a social media giant was established by Mark Zuckerberg who was only 19 years old at the time of the company's inception.

To conclude, I would therefore argue that although this development of a greater amount of younger generation has some demerits, they are outweighed by the advantages. This can enrich the condition of a country to a great extent.