At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The population structure in some countries like developing countries has benn changed in recent decades. The proportion of youth has been accompanied by decline in the proportion of old people. Youth population has a key role in sustainable development in any society. There are arguments on both sides of advantages and disadvantages of this topical debate.

Granted, young people are human capital of each society. Educated and skilled young generation has many positive effect on economy. They can drive economy forward. From practical view point, youthful population provides a growing market for manufactured products, food and services. Subsequently the income of governments from taxes will increase and prosperity in future. The more children and young people, the less money to be spent on health care for elderly people due they are looked after by their children. Also young people as working-age population increase work force efficiency and bring creativity and new entrepreneurship.

On the other hand, juniors need acquire education and related skills to contribute in a productive economy. Currently some developing countries are struggling to educate juniors in high level quality . According to the most recent available data, Pakistan with near 70 percent population below 29 years old has lowest percentage of literacy in world. Also countries anticipating rapid growth in number of young generation face increasing unemployment. Labor market is not able to absorb young and productive work force. If the human capital investment falls short and young work force cannot find job the rate of depression, crime and poverty will be increased.

In conclusion, I believe educated young generation provides progress in countries as they are fresh, energetic and have new ideas. But it is necessary to be considered by governments to balance age groups and has plan for needs of the coming generation.