Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. (250 words)

Educating children is one of essential responsibilities for parents as well as teachers. It’s crucial to raise a child into a good individual in the society. There are numerous teaching methods; one of them is giving some punishment for the children. I do agree that opinion.

Some people think it is enough to tell someone what rules he/ she should be followed; Give he/ she more chances to modify the actions. However, children, at an early age, are too young and innocent to be aware of their behavior and take the adults’ advice immediately. Kids learn important lessons by punishment when they disobey the rules as well as do something inappropriate, especially dangerous things.

When we talk about in which ways an adult should guild a kid to have good manners, I don’t support that children are punished by violence, for example, beating one’s palms with a stick. Because those punishments tend to be violent, it may be physical or psychology harmful. There are some more gentle guiding ways I support. For instance, children who make mistakes aren’t allow to have pocket money, do their favorite hobbies or eat favorite food for a period of time, but help do some housework. Take my experience as an example, I used to run after my friends in the hallway for fun when I was in Public School. Unfortunately, one day, I tripped one of my friends up while I was running up and down stairs. She had a nasty bump on her head when falling down. After hearing this news form my teacher, my parents were so angry and punished me by having doing some housework, such as hung up the clothes and vacuumed the carpet for a month. I’ve never done it again since then. Moreover, being a volunteer to do something for charity is also a wise solution.

In conclusion, I agree with the idea the punishment is a way to teach children because of its effectiveness. However, parents should be wise while choosing an appropriate and suitable penalty to correct children’s behavior.