The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

To what extent do you agree?

In this world, the most precious thing of each person is health. Some people think that doctors are those who only be needed when they feel bad. Unless they get sicked, they will not seek for prevention or annual checking with doctors. Others do the opposite. There is a statement that the prevention diseases is better than cure. To me, I could not agree with this anymore but treatment and drugs are also essential.

On one hand, the method of prevention illness is usually inexpensive. Here are some examples. With infectious diseases, the best way to stay away from them is to keep people and things around them clean and hygiene. With anemia due to iron lacking, people need to have a balance diet and an enough iron supplement. With some diseases such as mumps, tuberculosis, pertussis, etc, people just finish vaccination to have antibody against health problems. Prevention is not only affordable but also effective. Those examples that I mentioned above, if people do exactly what doctors suggest, the prevalence will be minimum.

On the other hand, people usually wait until their health deteriorates to go to hospital. In the hospital, there is a great percentage of patients who comes to doctor when their health is almost no more curable. That’s why the government should not fous on prevention only. Investment in both cure and avoidance is viable in this reality.

To sum up, it is undeniable that prevention is better than cure but with this miserable picture, government should even money for both fields.