Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that education plays a more effective role in crime reduction than imprisonment. I disagree with this viewpoint, because I argue that both are equally important and have their distinctive advantages.

On the one hand, I consider that the profound effects which prisons pose on criminals are undeniably efficient. Firstly, they are places keeping people who commit illegalities as severe punishment. To be more specific, offenders are obliged to face the loss of freedom, social isolation as well as separation from family, which acts as a deterrent against crimes. In addition, prisons are in charge of keeping dangerous criminals away from the society, ensuring the safety for the community. For example, murderers and rapists are those who are of necessity to be condemned in jail for their aggressive actions; as a result, other law-abiding citizens would feel relaxed when they walk on the streets, especially at night.

On the other hand, I would argue that education has a complementary role to play in tackling crimes.