The Proportions of Pupils Attending Four Secondary School Types

Between Between 2000 and 2009.

The table delineates the percentage of students educating in four various kinds of secondary Schools for the years 2000, 2005 and 2009.

Overall, it is evident that students preferred attending Voluntary-controlled Schools the most as compared to the remaining three Schools until the year 2005. However, the percentage soared for the Community Schools after 4 years(2009).

The rate of pupils attending Specialist Schools decreased by 2 percent from the year 2000 to 2009. Despite the fact that a number of children preferred Grammar Schools over the Specialist Schools, the number dropped almost the half of the percentage from the initial to final year for the Grammar Schools.

On the other hand, in the case of Voluntary-controlled Schools, the rate significantly decreased by 14 percent and 18 percent for the period between 2000 and 2005 and 2005 to 2009, respectively. Moreover, for the Community Schools the trend changed and the amount soared approximately five times(58%) the initial amount(12%) in the period of 9 years.