Psychological causes of internet addiction

In the modern civilization, the advent of technology has brought to some of debated matters on human lives. Internet addiction, specifically is assumed that it brings in multiple detrimental downsides with most teens and adolescents. As this universal phenomenon is relatively dominant, it is undoubted that social scientists are learning more about its psychological causes. They have found internet addiction can lead to both social and physical effects.

Anxiety and depression, initially turn out to be one of the fundamental causes which makes the rate of internet addictions increasingly. In a specific circumstance, people who suffer from those emotional symptoms can have the predisposition to manifest as an avid internet user. Thus, in the long term, they tend to gradually depend on using internet such social media but this impacts on the mind and makes their anxiety and depression worst.

More broadly, today teenagers are overly shy since influencing from low self-esteem, having feelings of inadequacy and a fear of disapproval from environmental effects. This could be proved by the different gender or social status in which bring in feelings of inferiority or not to be self-confident. Hence, they use internet in order to access social media as a tool to protect and expose themselves in an unrealistic world.

Notwithstanding, every cause is considerably relative to its consequence. Internet addiction at least in some cases can stem from anxiety, depression and shyness. Therefore, these result in two chief factors, both are socially and physically.

The first outcome of internet addiction is on social platform. Overuse internet would probably make youngsters unable to communicate well with others surrounding. For instance, because of the widespread access of internet, people prefer texting messages in lieu of chatting or face-to-face conversations in daily routines. As a result, these tendencies inevitable alter mankind’s way of interaction then would break up social relationship.

Physical effect, besides, would not be underestimated. Brain’s function is reduced generally and physical health will be devastated by using technological devices for a long time. However, teenagers become more isolated when spending almost time for internet applications without connecting with people outdoor. This also offers solitary lifestyle to younger generation these days.

In conclusion, although these adverse effects could originate from psychological causes of internet addiction, if people are more aware of and persistently investigate methods of diminishing the rate of internet users, the world will be practical and livable.