By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Life in prison is the most effective punishment for criminals who killed innocent people than that of a capital punishment, because this can be viewed as committing of another murders by killing of murderers. In my opinion, I completely agree that the death penalty is leading to other crimes and therefore, life in prison would be the most effective punishment for criminals.

Life sentences would be the most suitable punishment for criminals because they can get times to consider about their past mistakes. If the criminals would be sentenced to death penalty, the criminals may not recognise of their mistakes and they might feel the unfairness with the results. However, if let the criminals to live in prison, they could think about their current situation and this thought can lead to feeling of regrets and sorrows for the victims.

The purpose of punishment is educating criminals for their wrong behaviours so that they can become a society member. The instructors can provide the moral, ethical and justice information to educate prisoners, while the prisoners can understand the theories by doing voluntary works at a local community, for instance. Therefore, the criminals can understand their own past mistakes and can become a new person by actively helping others.

In terms of capital punishment, it does not have its purpose of education. When criminals get educated, they would get the time to reconsider of their past mistakes and revise their behaviours. However, in terms of the capital punishment, it does not give enough time for criminals to reconsider of their past mistakes. Therefore, it cannot be said that this is the most effective method to punish criminals.

In conclusion, the death penalty can be seen as violation of criminal act of killing a person and it does not provide the insufficient time for penance. Therefore, life sentences are the better punishment for murderers.