Q 14 : Some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of what factors can contribute to successful life has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that devotion to work allows people to live a better life rather than money and appearance, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that fortunes and appearance are directly related to having an improved standard of living do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that people from wealthy families can acquire opportunities not only to receive better education but also to operate their own businesses. Moreover, these people are able to invest vast sums of money in the stock market, which could even lead them to earn an astronomical amount of money. Furthermore, in modern society, there are a multitude of influencers who benefits a great deal from their appearance. To be more specific, celebrities, including movie stars as well as fashion model, achieve fame and gain wealth with the development of mass media.

My opinion, however, is that dedication to work plays a vital role in individuals' success. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that working adults who spend huge amounts of time and energy on work can become promoted to a high position at the workplace with greater ease. As an illustration, although Kim Ki-Hun, from South Korea, who was born and raised in a poor area suffered from poverty in childhood, he became a vice president in Samsung owing to his commitment to work. In addition, employees passionate about their occupations are more likely to develop skills and to acquire knowledge related to their jobs, which exerts a positive influence on them building a successful career. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that dedication to work enables working people to have a high level of successful life for the reasons discussed above.