Q15. Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether remote education is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to receiving tertiary education on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university and college students can reap a myriad of advantages from earning a bachelor's or a master's degree on the Internet. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way students can participate in their classes regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. In addition, students are able to save time considering that commuting to and from school deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on their studies.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that distance education merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that online classes prevent students from gaining instant feedback from their professors in person, which leads them to have difficulty revising for the exam. In other words, a multitude of students are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their majors, exerting a detrimental influence on their academic performance. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their classmates as well as senior students helping them develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at university enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of earning certificates on the Internet surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.