Q18 More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information, therefore there is no need to print books, magazines and newspapers on paper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the need for printed books has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to keep a record of information on paper, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from electronic books and magazines. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people can have access to a huge amount of information by making use of electronic gadgets, such as smartphones and tablets. To be more specific, electronic devices contribute to an increase in the quality of life given that not only can users be free from bringing heavy hard copies, but they are also able to find the meaning of unknown words owing to the search function on devices. In addition, from the perspective of publishing companies, these firms can correct mistakes, including typing errors. with greater ease as they can make corrections instantly on the Internet, instead of releasing new editions on paper that costs a fortune.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the development of electronic documents merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that electronic materials can be hacked, exerting a detrimental influence on both individuals and the government. This is because hackers are able to access personal information as well as the country's official documents. If confidential information is revealed to criminals, it would pose a threat to national security. Furthermore, students can harmfully be affected by e-books. To provide a hypothetical example, if students are only allowed to use electronic textbooks, pupils would have difficulty concentrating on their classes since they can play online games and keep in touch with their friends via social media.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.