Q2 Some people believe famous people's support towards international aid organizations draw the attention to problems, while others think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the impact of celebrities' assistance on ordinary people has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that well-known people can contribute to an increase in the level of attention to social problems by supporting charities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that influencers helping socially disadvantaged people exert a detrimental influence on the public do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that some entertainers exploit charitable activities in an undesirable way, causing individuals to become less interested in social issues. As an illustration, Kim Ki Hun who is a singer from South Korea patronised a charitable institution, and he achieved fame and wealth. However, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, it turned out that the main reason for his donation was receiving tax waivers. Given these points, some people hold the view that renowned people can worsen the essence of charitable work.

My opinion, however, is that celebrities' support towards global charitable foundations has a beneficial effect on the masses. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that not only can public figures inform individual people of the importance of charitable activities, but they are also able to raise awareness amongst everyday people considering that they are often exposed to mass media. Furthermore, a myriad of fans of influencers have a predisposition to participate in charitable work when their idols partake in it. To exemplify, Lionel Messi spent approximately 3 million US dollars on a charitable organisation in South Africa in order to alleviate global hunger, which led numerous of his keen supporters to pay attention to poverty. As a result, they donated about 5 million US dollars. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that influencers' help brings with it positives in society for the reasons discussed above.