Q2 : Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should be required to understake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from obligatory voluntary activities for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is being forced to participate in voluntary work enables pupils not only to feel a sense of belonging to our society but also to realise the importance of helping socially disadvantaged people. In addition, adolescents are capable of developing interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career by partaking in mandatory volunteering. As a brief illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, the majority of large companies have a predisposition to hire employees who are able to empathise with others.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that obligatory voluntary work merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that being obliged to attend volunteering can cause the youth to experience high levels of stress given that devotion to voluntary work deprives them of an opportunity to take part in leisure activities helping them unwind. Furthermore, mandatory charitable activities can exert a detrimental influence on students' academic performances given that commitment to these activities often prevents young people from revising for their exams. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.