Q4: Many people believe that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of social media has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that both individual people and society are harmfully affected by social networking services, such as Facebook and Instagram, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from making use of social networking services. Perhaps the principal benefit is the advent of social media has revolutionised the way people communicate with each other regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. To be more specific, people are able to send messages to their friends and family members anywhere and at any time with greater ease. In addition, users can share common interests with their acquaintances, making it possible for them to build strong relationships with one another.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the development of social media merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that adolescents who generally have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong are more likely to be exposed to crimes as offenders can easily target them by creating numerous fake profiles. This can even lead to an increase in the number of abductions, which exerts a detrimental influence on society. Furthermore, a multitude of employees and pupils who lack self-control can become addicted to the Internet, meaning that excessive use of social media often causes damage to their work or academic performance because it prevents them from concentrating on their duties or studies. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.