Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today argue that social media has an overall negative impact on both the average person and society more generally. I am in complete agreement with this opinion as individuals are likely to suffer from an unhealthy addiction and social media can cause fractures in society.

The most obvious effect of social media is on the mental health of individual users. Most people on social media have become to varying degrees addicted to the small dopamine bursts that come from scrolling through their feed, feeling outraged at posts, receiving likes, and making positive or negative comments. Each person is likely to gain satisfaction through a different route but all these self-esteem boosts are unhealthy relative to achieving something in the real world. In some cases, individuals retreat from the real world in favor of a virtual one where the stakes are considerably lower and interactions are safely one-sided.

Additionally, the drawbacks of social media are evident throughout society. There are numerous small groups and communities on Facebook that encourage anti-social impulses. For instance, many people post and read about conspiracy theories online on a daily basis. Over time, these individuals begin to feel isolated from mainstream society and the effects of this can appear during real-world events such as the January 6 insurrection and the Occupy Wall Street movement. Although these actions can be interpreted as protests, the viewpoints being expressed are often too extreme to lead to defensible and pragmatic reform.

In conclusion, social media is an overwhelming negative for both normal citizens and the entirety of society. Since governments are averse to regulation, it is important for individuals to abandon these platforms.