Question: More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a shore time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefit from this?

These days, it is an increasing trend that youngsters, who from affluent nations, take a year off to work at developing countries as volunteers. There are several reasons to this trend and it is my personal that both local communities and young people reap the benefits from this.

To begin with, a growing number of youngsters spend a short time to volunteer at less affluent countries because of several reasons. Firstly, it is evident that working at other countries is an effective way to learn about these cultures. This allows them to expose to the new environment and acquire a great deal of knowledge, which they could not learn from books or teachers. Secondly, I would content that doing unpaid jobs is better way to help the poor than giving them financial incentives. If they suddenly received a huge subsidies, then it would liable that they will spend these on money on shopping rather than putting their children to schools or renovating their houses.

From my perspective, this trends is beneficial for both the locals and young adults from developed countries. On community scale, unpaid jobs obviously bring economic prosperity for indigenous communities since it costs them nothing. The local authorities, thus, could spend their budget in other key fields, such as infrastructure or health care sector. In addition, local children are given opportunities to access to the free education as well as poverty-stricken people are provided new houses. On abroad volunteer scale, doing unpaid jobs enable them to acquire hand-on experience. In particular, volunteering requires those youngster to collaborate with others from different backgrounds, making them learn some vital soft skills and fostering mutual understanding.

It goes without saying that there are a growing number of youngster, who from wealthy countries, choosing to do voluntary jobs in less affluent countries due to several reasons and this trend also will bring benefits for the local simultaneously.