A recent study showed that both developed and developing countries prosper because of the economic growth. People from developing countries are happier than before while people from developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why does this happen? What do you learn from this?

The significant growth in the global economy has helped both wealthy and emerging countries to become more prosperous. However, it is reported that while citizens from developing countries have felt more satisfied with life, the levels of contentment in developed nations have witnessed a gradual decrease. In fact, there are many reasons leading to this difference in various places.

In the case of developing nations, the residents are living a happier life nowadays since they have undergone remarkable improvements in the living conditions. Due to poverty happening in the past, people in emerging countries starved to cut back the amount of money spent on food, leading to severe health risks including malnutrition and waterborne diseases. Therefore, the thriving economy has guaranteed financial stability and access to necessities for developing countries. Not only overcoming famine, but citizens from these nations also have been provided with better healthcare as well as achieving higher education.

On the other hand, there are numerous factors causing citizens of affluent countries to be less happy than before. First, unlike emerging countries where living conditions have been upgraded significantly, there have been no changes in developed countries since their living standards have already been quite high. In addition, the global economic upswing has allowed many businesses in developing nations to grow, which gives the rise to direct and indirect competitions. As a consequence, it is urgent for employees to do overtime or work extra hours in order to surpass their competitors. This suggests that people in wealthy countries devoted too much time to work that they miss the opportunity for leisure pursuit and quality family time.

After analyzing the situations of both developing and developed nations, I conclude that although money plays an important role in supplying the basics for humans, it doesn’t necessarily associate with happiness furthermore.