Recently, children are spending much time on TV instead of active and creative things, why do you think this is the case? What measures will be helpful to change this problem?

It is true that in contemporary society, the young are interested in keeping their eyes glued to the TV screen rather than participating in meaningful and creative activities. There are some causes of this tendency and they should be tackled by children’s family and school teachers.

There are two main reasons why watching TV is the most favourable hobby among youngsters. Firstly, modern parents tend to spend less time taking care of their offsprings. This is because the living demand of every household has significantly grown, consequently parents need to work for longer hours to cover their family’s need. As a result, children can not themselves manage the watching time appropriately and are gradually addicted to satellite TV channels. Secondly, some parents are truly overprotective and conservative. They do not allow their offsprings to take part in charitable events or basically hang out with counterparts after school. Therefore, students have no opportunity to get involved in outside active games and in turn, TV programs appear as the easiest way to relax under this circumstance.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent these mentioned problems. As children these days spend most of their time in school, it is advisable for school management system to organize a larger number of extracurricular activities for students in order to promote creativity and train vital soft skills. If children are encouraged joining these exercises on a daily basis, they would draw inspiration and find other active hobbies to do instead of watching TV. Just as teachers, parents also play an integral part in changing the young’s lifestyle, which means healthy routines and schedules should be created to supervise children’s watching hours at home.

It is clear that there are various explanations for children’s sedentary behaviour and effective steps need to be taken to address this issue.