A report indicated that many children between 7 and 11 spend too much time watching television and playing videos game How does this problem affect children What measures can be taken to control it

It is proven that elementary-aged children are obsessed with watching television and playing computer games. This essay will examine the adverse effect of this practice, and then offer some feasible solutions to it.

A child's prolonged exposure to television programmes and electronic games can lead to a host of problems for the child himself, his parents, and society. Concerning the former, this often makes children neglect homework, resulting in poor academic performance. This also means that in some countries such as the US where television programmes are highly sexual in their content, the incidence of vulgar language can increase greatly. with regard to parents, they could be upset and worry more about their children's development in late years as the scholastic performance may not be like what they expect. Finally, it would be more serious if shows containing sexual references may drive the children into sexually transmitted diseases and pregnancy.

Various steps, nevertheless, can be taken to mitigate the issue. First of all, emphasis should be placed on parents, which means that parents should spend more time participating in the selection of programmes to be viewed, co-viewing and discussing content with their children, and limiting time spent on playing console games and viewing television one to two hours per day. Alongside the restrictions from parents, teachers also play on important role in engaging children into extra-curricular activities, such as performance arts, drawing, creative writing and sports. These activities make better use of the children's skills, time and energy.

In conclusion, there are many negative consequences of children spending more time on watching TV and playing games for themselves, their parents, and on the societal level, but measure can be taken to redress the issue.