Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that developed countries or economies should offer more solution- or training-based assistance to less developed regions, other than simply providing low- or non-interest financial aid. I mostly agree with this argument.

There is an old saying in China, basically stating ‘it is better to teach someone how to fish, rather than giving him or her fishes directly’. Obviously, the possession of fishing skill, a useful livelihood skill, is more sustainable than being given fishes on a regular basis. In other words, it is more important for the less developed countries to receive solution or training provided by developed countries, in terms of the management of government, financial system, education system and medical system, as well as training for professionals. By doing this, a well-functioning administration and public services can then be established in less developed countries, so that basic services and protection can be provided to the people living there, as well as giving a sense of security to the foreign visitors and investors. In the end, issues, such as poverty, can be resolved progressively in a long run.

However, the provision of financial aid from developed countries is also important in helping less developed regions to combat poverty. Basic infrastructure is critical for the functioning of an economy and logistics of resources, but it usually requires a large amount of initial capital investment. This is what a less developed country cannot usually afford at the beginning. Training can also be offered to the local labour and other professionals during the construction of infrastructure, so they will further apply their skills in the future development of local communities.

In summary, offering other types of help, such as training of professional and management skills, to less developed countries is critical for the combat of poverty and sustainable development in a long run. Nevertheless, the provision of initial financial aid from developed economies in establishing infrastructure is also necessary. These two main types of assistance can work together.