School should not force children to learn a foreign language.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the belief that educational institutions should let students freely decide whether or not language classes are necessary for their development. But to me, personally, I think language classes should be compulsory for students until they reach universities.

Advocates may argue that learning a language that they don’t have the passion for, will be a waste of time for the younger generations. They also believe that forcing schoolers to learn a foreign language in their early years, may affect their abilities to fluence and master their mother tongue. Some also debate that knowing a second language doesn’t have any contribution towards their future.

I strongly disagree with those ideas. Firstly, when a child is in their early years, they are very innocent, and the majority of them are not passionate about study in general. So as a result, they won’t participate in language classes if they are not compulsory. Because, they don’t know the first things about that new language, they just know that they will have more time to play. So it is the school's duty to introduce a new language to the youngsters in order for them to connect to that language. Beside a child’s acknowledgement, language also helps sharpen a child's mind. Many researches proved that learning a new language helps increase their communication skills as well as their abilities to observe a situation in many different ways which helps develop their flexibility and problem solving skills. Those kinds of skills are the ones that are easy to absorb when you are young.

Secondly, as the world becomes more globalized, learning languages that are spoken by the majority will bring numerous advantages for your future. Take Vietnam as an example, Vietnam is a developing country where many international corporations had and have built their company in. In order to work at those gigantic companies, English is a requirement. So after years, learning and practicing English, your chances to be hired are higher than the one who don’t have a strong foundation in English, which embarks on a career path, and helps you to achieve your dream accomplishments. That’s a powerful evidence why language classes should be made compulsory. To extend, learning English will also help you to have opportunities to pursue well- qualified universities for higher education. Because most of these honor educational institutions teach their students in English. One of the side benefits of learning a new language from an early age is you will broaden your mind with the culture and tradition of that country, which help to be open-minded and help raise your confidence and flexibility.

To conclude, even though the word focusing always comes with negative meanings, and makes schoolers learning a language that they aren't passionate about have many drawbacks. But those have nothing in comparison to the disadvantages that they will receive if the school panels don’t make language classes compulsory.