In terms of education, the question of whether schools should integrate a foreign language into the mandatory curriculum has been the subject of a heated debate. While some people propose the idea that students should not be forced to learn another language, I do not completely agree with them since I believe that the benefits of this policy are substantially more considerable.

On the one hand, it is true that the act of mandating pupils to learn a linguistic subject may be counteractive. The most compelling reason is that studying language is often a harsh and challenging process, which cannot be completed without sheer commitment and outstanding amount of effort. Meanwhile, students are already on the verge of exhaustion due to excessive work derived from other core academic subjects such as Math or Literature. Therefore, if schools try to add the teaching of another linguistic subject, the pupils may be too stressed to learn and end up studying ineffectively.

However, on the other hand, I would contend that the benefits of understanding another language for pupils is too remarkable to be skipped. In terms of in-class performance, bilingual students are able to read and absorb knowledge from reading materials written in not only the mother tongue, but also in the other language as well. Thanks to this ability, they can prepare for the lesson better than their monolingual peers. Furthermore, pupils who know more than one language will have a huge advantage in their careers after they graduate from the school. This is due to the fact that they are capable of working internationally instead of only in the boundary of their nation. Undoubtedly, these multilingual employees will get much better pay than the others.

To conclude, although the curriculum should be carefully constructed in order to avoid causing stress to students, I believe schools should definitely mandate students to learn another language because of the benefits mentioned above.