Schools should emphasize academic subjects, which are more important for future jobs, rather than sports and music. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has always been a controversy as regards whether educational institutions should place emphasis on academic subjects like science and technology instead of sports and music. While some people are in favor of the former by reason of its significance in students’ potential careers, I am strongly of the opinion that sports and music should not be disregarded for the following reasons.

First of all, it is undeniable that sports invigorate humans while music comforts our soul and spirit. In today’s fast-paced world, people often confront excessive stress, constant anxiety, and unrelenting pressure. By virtue of sports and music, we are able to find a different world, far more beautiful than the reality, to slowly sense the breath of life. Additionally, notwithstanding the achievements and miracles made possible by science and technology, numerous issues cannot be resolved by them. Social issues such as juvenile delinquency, racial discrimination and moral degradation are all beyond the scope of science. Only sports and music can address the aforementioned problems.

In addition, sports and music enable students to develop their creativity which is deemed necessary to complement science and technology. For instance, world-renowned artists like Leonardo da Vinci and Luca Pacioli are also widely known as talented mathematicians and scientists. Another example is Albert Einstein. He is not only a great physicist and mathematician, but also a capable pianist and violinist. It is perfectly understandable that we are more likely to elaborate our thought and do some brainstorming in the process of creating works of art. As far as physical exercise is concerned, studies conducted by prestigious associations of American Universities showed that a regular workout increases blood flow to the brain, leading to increased concentration, enhanced memory and stimulated creativity. In developed nations, sports and music are compulsory learning subjects for primary and secondary school students.

In conclusion, I hold firm to the belief that sports and music are imperative and should not be neglected for the aforementioned reasons.