Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills

such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school

as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To what extent do you

agree or disagree?

Children now are being put under pressure of academic success. Some people claim that schools should only teach academic subjects and focus on training students to pass exams. They refuse their kids to learn other important life skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork. Personally speaking, I strongly disagree with this idea.

Undoubtedly, pure academic will help students pursue a decent job in the future. In the modern day, competitive in the future job market is extremely high. Thus, a lot of expectations from parents are being put on the student's shoulders, forced them to concentrate on their academic studies and passing examinations. However, life skills are also as important as theoretical subjects. It plays a vital role in forming the personality of a kid and gives them skills that will be useful when they enter adult life.

Learning life skills is important and school is the best place to learn them. Firstly, compared to learning at home, school is a professional environment, the lesson will be taught by an expert, the experiment would also be conducted in a lab where more tools are available and the level of safety is also significantly higher. For example, students would be safer when undertaking an experiment on woodwork project at school as they need to follow a particular safety guideline and being under the supervision of teachers. Second, engaging in these activities might also helps children who are in their formative years enhance soft skills. It helps strengthen the bond with their peers, reduces the risks of mental illnesses due to stress from the pressure of studying and boosts the communication and social skills.

In summary, practical life skills are as important as theoretical subjects. They both respectively play a certain role in having a careful preparation for a kid to enter adult life.