Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies . Do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research plays an important role in human’s development. Some people think that the responsibility for conducting and managing it should be taken by governments, and not by private companies. Personally, I believe that both governments and businesses should have the right and duty to do research.

Governments have to take the leading role in doing research because of a few reasons. Firstly, scientific research is the key to finding solutions to the pressing concerns of society. Thorough medical research, for example, needs to be conducted by governments to develop vaccines against potential epidemics. Research into renewable energies is also crucial to try to deal with global warming. These kinds of extensive research require the participation of hundreds or even thousands of researchers and the application of advanced technology, which can only funded and monitored by the government. In addition, scientific studies controlled by the authorities will ensure reliable and ethical methods, and minimize the risk of these studies being used for criminal activities. Studies related to nuclear power or weapons, for example, must be carried out or supervised by governmental organizations to prevent high-tech crimes and to protect the country’s security.

However, scientific research should not only be conducted by governments. Private companies can do research which is not carried out by governments, and in fact, many useful scientific discoveries have been made by private institutions. For example, the invention of the iPhone by Apple, a corporation in the US that has opened the era of smartphones and facilitated interaction among people all over the world. Furthermore, encouraging profit-driven companies to conduct scientific investigations will help them develop their own products and create competition in the market. Society, therefore, will benefit from new inventions and lower priced products.

In conclusion, although governments should control and carry out major scientific studies, private companies should not be deprived of the right to do research