Several people have asked me about this question from Cambridge IELTS 8. I wrote the
essay below with the help of some of my students. A few simple linking features are
highlighted.
It is true that new technologies have had an influence on communication between
people. Technology has affected relationships in various ways, and in my opinion there
are both positive and negative effects.
Technology has had an impact on relationships in business, education and social
life. Firstly, telephones and the Internet allow business people in different countries to
interact without ever meeting each other. Secondly, services like Skype create new
possibilities for relationships between students and teachers. For example, a student
can now take video lessons with a teacher in a different city or country. Finally, many
people use social networks, like Facebook, to make new friends and find people who
share common interests, and they interact through their computers rather than face to
face.
On the one hand, these developments can be extremely positive. Cooperation between
people in different countries was much more difficult when communication was limited
to written letters or telegrams. Nowadays, interactions by email, phone or video are
almost as good as face-to-face meetings, and many of us benefit from these
interactions, either in work or social contexts. On the other hand, the availability of new
communication technologies can also have the result of isolating people and
discouraging real interaction. For example, many young people choose to make friends
online rather than mixing with their peers in the real world, and these ‘virtual’
relationships are a poor substitute for real friendships.
In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionised communication between people,
but not all of the outcomes of this revolution have been positive.