Should animals be used in testing new drugs and procedures?

-Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many places it is allowed to test some species of animals in order to get helpful results, medicines and vaccines. As a result, most scientists tend to use animals as projects to make specific experiences. This essay will discuss the reasons which allow animals be used in testing new drugs and procedures.

There are three main reasons why animals are used in researches. Firstly, animals are used in research when there are no other ways to do experiments. In other words, if experts have to apply biological studies and no choices are founded, it will be allowed to use them as alternatives. Secondly, people and animals share hundreds of illnesses, so animals often act as models for the study of human disease. For instance, mice suffer from many of the same cancers that afflict people that’s why animals are used for cancer research and models to study diseases. Thirdly, to protect the safety of people and animals, new medicines require testing because researchers must measure both the beneficial and the harmful effects of a compound on a whole organism.

Researchers have to test extensively to prevent “Vaccine enhancement” a situation in which a vaccine actually makes the disease worse in some people. Moreover, scientists racing to develop a vaccine for Coronavirus during 2020 global pandemic need to test on genetically modified mice to ensure that the vaccine doesn’t make the virus worse. As a famous person said, testing a coronavirus vaccine on animals is “Absolutely essential” and skipping that step would be “fraught with difficulty and danger”. However, in countries such as: UK and UE, this is written into law and it is illegal to use an animal in research where there is a practical solution.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, the use of animals in some forms of biomedical research remains essential to the discovery of the causes, treatments of disease and suffering in humans and animals. Equally significant, if we didn’t use them, we would have to test new drugs on people which leads their lives to be risky and in danger.