should governments or teachers be responsible for what is to be taught in schools? give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The idea that whether governments or teachers should be accountable for the subjects to be taught in schools is highly contentious. Some people claim that governments have more authority to decide however, others believe that teachers should have the authority to choose what to be taught in schools. This essay will discuss how governments knowledge about society make it superior to select what to be taught in schools. This essay will also highlight that teachers spend more time with students and should decide what to be taught to them.

On the one hand, governments should be responsible for what to be taught in schools. There are many reasons behind this notion, but the obvious one is that the governments have the required knowledge about the country's professional requirements to decide what subjects are required to fulfil the professional needs of the country. For example, many organisations work under governments and governments can assess the needs of these businesses. With this knowledge, governments can introduce the required subjects in schools.

On the other hand, teachers should decide what to be taught in schools as teachers spend more time with students. Teachers can assess the capabilities of students as well as the limitations of the teaching material. For example, with the help of examinations, teachers can get an idea whether students are learning and retaining the delivered material. If the subjects are not helpful for students then, teachers should have the authority to change the delivered material.

In conclusion, governments and teachers both should have the authority to decide what to be taught in schools. Governments are more aware of societal needs to decide what subjects are necessary and required for students to learn. Teachers are in direct contact with their students and can assess the capabilities and limitations of students and teaching material to decide what to be taught to students.