Smoking not only harms the smoker but also those who are nearby Therefore smoking should be banned in public places To what extend do you agree or disagree

Cigarette's smoke has toxic effects in those who inhale it, thus a large section of society reckons that the government should prohibited smoking in social areas and buildings. From my point of view, people should only be able to smoke in open spaces and in private buildings.

The smoker's decision to be unhealthy should not mean that the people surrounding him must suffer the consequences of this harming habit. Multiple studies have proved that smoking can multiply the possibilities of suffering different kind of diseases, such as lung cancer. In addition, during the last decades, it has been discovered that the smoke generated by a lighten cigarette can have similar results in the people located around it. While gases are constantly flowing in open spaces, the gas concentration remains the same in closed rooms. Thus, people must not smoke inside.

However, banning smoking in open public areas could cross a dangerous line regarding anxiety and freedom. As mentioned above, the effects of cigarette smoke on people close to it can be quite harmful, and if an open space is too crowed, it may have the same consequences. Nevertheless, should smoking be banned in this type of places, then people could probably only smoke on a daily basis when they got home. As a result, smokers would spend most of their day, especially at stressful situations, anxious and in a bad mood.

To conclude, I partly agree with the statement. While not smokers should never have to deal with health issues due to the poor decisions of a smoker, addiction to nicotine can cause high level of stress, which could end up a smoker's job or relationship if he is not able to smoke for hours. Therefore, in my opinion, smoking in open public spaces must be permitted.