Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

In modern times, the issue of smoking in public places has become highly controversial. There are those who say that smoking in public areas should be banned. However, others believe that it should not. In this essay I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe that governments and municipalities should forbid smoking in public places, such as hospitals, restaurants and train stations. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is because cigarette smoke is carcinogenic for the people who breathe it. A good illustration of this is that people who smoke a lot and secondary smokers can develop serious illness such as lung cancer. A further point in favour of banning smoking in public places is that the smoke from cigarettes smells terrible. If you stand next to someone who is smoking, your clothes and hair will smell like tobacco smoke for his rest of the day.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that smoking in public places should be allowed. The main reason why people think that this is a good idea is because it could negatively affect some businesses, such as bars, restaurants and nightclubs. As a result, many people could lose their jobs. Secondly, the government could lose a lot of tax money from cigarettes. This is because less people would buy cigarettes, and so pay less tax on them.

In conclusion, this is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. Despite arguments to the contrary, I feel very strongly that we should ban smoking in all public places. If the government implements this policy, we will have a healthier and cleaner society.