Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars, designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about the important things and that is why divorce rates are so high and family bonds are not as strong anymore; our value system is disintegrating.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Materialism is becoming a growing issue in the modern world. Some people claim that this leads to high divorce rates, the deterioration of family bonds and our value system. I partly agree with this idea for the following reasons.

Firstly, the obsession of material goods can be a decisive factor when it comes to high divorce rates, the disintegration of the value system and the weakening of family bonds. To earn high salaries, these days people spend most of their time working. For instance, a typical Vietnam white-collar worker goes to work at 7am and returns home at 5pm. At home some may even be inundated with streams of deadlines. As a result, they have little time for family, which leads to the weakening bonds between family members. Husbands and wives do not have time to listen to and care for each other, which could lead to divorces. Moreover, the chase for material goods can make people indulge in illegal acts such as smuggling and drug trafficking, which indicates that the value system is degrading. Taken together, the implications of materialism are serious.

However, materialism is not the sole culprit in the separation of couples and the deterioration of the value system. The main reason for divorces is the incompatibility between husbands and wives. In other words, they struggle with reaching a mutual resolution. If they do not find ways to settle their disputes, break-up is inevitable. As for the disintegration of moral values, schools are partly condemned for not educating children adequately. The painful truth is that many institutes strive for achievements, so they just focus on teaching children to pass exams. As a result, moral lessons are neglected and teachers do not intervene when students cheat in optional tests.

In conclusion, materialism is partly blamed for high divorce rates, the degradation of family bonds and our value system, while the disputes in family and the negligence of schools also play a part. Thus, it is crucial for parents to care more for their family, and schools should do their bid to impart moral knowledge to students.