Some believe that older people make better leaders than young people in companies and organisations.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Higher positions in numerous global enterprises are indeed held by elderly people. While numberless companies have flourished under the elderly’s leadership, I would argue that young generations are also eligible to take up important positions nowadays.

To begin with, the aged people possess more edges compared with the youths. Due to years of work experience, they have possibly encountered countless barriers and failures which teach them to develop strong problem-solving strategies and gain better cognitive skills, such as long-term vision and big picture thinking. Taking into account the operations of the enterprises, the directors not only own extensive knowledge of handling troublesome situations but also require the ability to keep calm and adjust the mood. For example, senior executives who have handled lots of difficulties are prone to stay calm instead of anxious and impulsive, it is more likely to inspire loyalty and trust of employees. Good morale in the workplace boosts the productively in favour of running companies effectively.

On the other hand, youngsters possess more innovative ideas which play a key role in pushing the business forward. They are generally more creative than aged people because they are less constrained by their prior patterns of thought. Thanks to the creativity owned by the young directors, numerous products, apps and services have emerged. The establishment of Facebook is a good example where the creator was only 19 years old when Facebook was founded. After several years, it has become one of the most popular social media platforms worldwide with the escort of a bunch of young leaders.

In conclusion, I believe that age should not be the criteria for selecting the leaders in today’s world. Although the elderly tend to have lots of experience in the workplace, the new generations can also be the better candidates to take up leadership roles in the company.