Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones Why is this case Do you think this is a positive or negative development

Recently, most children are glued on their smartphones each day for hours. This essay will explain the contributing factor and to what extent this could be a negative or positive for children development.

Regarding the reason, this phenomenon can be caused by the busy parents who do not have enough quality time to play with their children. The parents usually spent eight hours even more at their office every day. Hence, they are frequently exhausted and have no energy to interact with their children. Therefore, they choose smartphones as tools to keep their children occupied.

In my point of view, this rising problem will lead to negative effects on children’s development. Children between 5-10 years old need parents’ supervision. On that period of age, children can not filter any content that can be accessed through their mobile phones. It is frequently reported that children accidentally access any bad contents and websites that can cause trauma (if they see any horor contents) or even trigger them to do something they should not do like pickpocketing, lying, cursing etc. Furthermore, spending hours on mobile phones will drive children to a sedentary life style which characterized by less motoric activities. This can be dangerous, because in that golden period of development children need activities that can train their muscles and bones in order to support their growth.

In conclusion, less control from parents will increase the risk of smartphones addiction which is related to several negative impacts on children’s development such as bad behaviours and becoming less active