Some cities have few controls over the design and construction of housing and office buildings. People think that they should be free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The demand of accomodation and work office is associated with economic development, thus how are these buildings designed is questionable. Although some people think that the design should be freely chosen and follow their style, I believe this trend would be eclipsed by its considerable drawbacks.

On the other hand, less oversight of building design may bring about a ton of benefits. First, with the freedom in construction, the owners and designers would seize the opportunities in experiencing various design styles as well as materials and come up with new or even novel ideas, which leads to the arrival of unique and innovative houses. Furthermore, apartments are designed freely toward the owners' perspectives would match various demands. Each person has their own preference, some of them may be passionate about traditional forms while the others enjoy modern ones. Therefore loose regulation on the design and construction is obviously advantageous.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of this trend are more significant. If the buildings are constructed without any strict or uniform building codes, the consequences will be serious when natural disasters strike. A typical example could be seen in the central area of Vietnam. There are many houses that completely collapse whenever fierce storm strikes the regions and claims residents’ life or property. Secondly, failing in uniformity and adjustment of the city may result in distortion in city arrangement and organization. This may , in turn, damage the look of the city since the consistency in the building is associated with beauty.

In conclusion, Despite load of positive effects of allowing people design their houses basing on styles, these advantages are overshadowed by the drawbacks