Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transportations like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

almost big cities have car-free days, at these days all of private car is banned to drive and citizen prefer for using public transportation. In my opinion, it will reduce gas-emission pruduction, however vehicle-free days only available at week-end.

every decade, the number of vehicle producing always increase, because of that emission gasses index around the world shows an increasing tend to make air pollution. Therefore, this leads to Global warming comes faster if the citizen do not lean about the harmfully of using private car. for Example, In jakarta as The capital city of Indonesia, since 2007, car-free days has been materialize once a week in sunday, and based on Meteorological and geophysical, air pollution index data experienced dramatically decline as more than 70% vehicle using stem from jakarta. so, if at that day air pollution in jakarta will below the normal limit.

In Addition, an average of vehicle-free days in some cities carried out when weekend, however at that time, almost people spending their time just at home. that is to say it could not maximize and efficient to divert public transportation for people. moreover, it seems that may be air pollution reducing, but promoting public transportation to public will not have an impact. for instance, in Makassar public transportation not really an option because everyday people more prefer to ride motorcycle as they are only banned for riding or driving at sunday. so, i think it is not really helpfully for people to use public transportation.

to sum up, car-free days have more advantages such us reduce air pollution, also to make citizen switching from private car to public transportation, however it only could if the car-free days is done efficiently.