Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transplantation like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some cities have established days when private vehicles are banned in the downtown area, to promote the use of public transport like metros and buses. Despite some inconveniences it causes, this change is beneficial in general.

Undoubtedly, the use of public transport like metro can greatly reduce the energy consumption and the emission of harmful gases into the atmosphere. Non-government organizations and environmentalists have proved with precise calculation that a bus is only comparable to a few private cars or motorcycles in terms of carbon dioxide emission and oil consumption, but can carry up to forty passengers. Therefore, the pollution caused by an average person decreases. Also, less private vehicles in the city center means that bicycle riders and pedestrians will be safer on the streets. Previously, they had to watch out carefully for cars from all directions when walking in the busy areas, but with only a few buses on the roads, they can feel much more relaxed.

However, it is also pointed out that such prohibition of private cars and trucks brings about unnecessary inconvenience to citizens. For example, some people may be in a hurry to get to the hospital. Banned from driving his own car, he has to wait for some time before getting to a nearby metro station. Also, public transport like buses is often criticized for their low speed, because they have to stop continually at bus or metro stations.

In my viewpoint, benefits of such a proposal outweighs its costs, provided that the vehicle-free days are implemented properly. Setting up these days will inform individuals about the need to make their contribution to protecting the environment. The concept of using public transport when available can become deeply implanted, and this can yield greater benefits in the future, as people stick to this principle. Problems of such a vehicle-free day should be well addressed. For instance, citizens should be well informed through various methods about the dates when private vehicles are banned in the city center, so that chaos is avoided. Besides, buses and metros should be more frequent on these days, to cope with the sudden surge in the number of passengers taking public transport.

In a word, the vehicle-free-days attempts in some cities are successful from an environmentalist’s view, although sometimes the cost is convenience and efficiency. If problems are properly solved and all stakeholders are well prepared for such days, then these vehicle-free days would be beneficial.