Some countries achieve international sporting success by building specialized facilities for training top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, some countries invest an immense amount of money on special sports facilities for the training of their top talents to achieve sports success in some international competitions. While such development is worth rewarding, I would disapprove if it is at the expense of the public sports facilities.

On the one hand, I accept that supporting athletes in international games is beneficial in multiple ways. For many people, global sports games such as the World Cup or the Olympic are when the sense of partialism and national consolidation is shared the most. The winners become national heroes, and they strongly influence other people to learn and practice sports.

On the other hand, I strongly argue that the public sport system should be the top priority. It is no doubt that the citizens are those who pay taxes and contribute to the government budget, thus, they should be all beneficial from government spending. There is no right for the government to cut the expense for the public sport system and use that to fund the international sports games.

In addition, the lack of investment in public sports facilities would contribute to a number of social issues. There would be a slide in public health and longevity among the poor who can not afford the private sport system. As a result, these poor old patients become a burden to the domestic economy and national medical system.

To conclude, international sporting success is a great honor, which is the reason why more nations put money into highly professional sports facilities to cultivate their top talents. However, I believe that all governments should always put the public sport system first.