Some countries are experiencing a dramatic drop in birthrates, whilst in other countries the population is rapidly increasing. What do you think are the causes of this? Do you believe this is a positive or negative trend?

There are reasons for this trend regarding women’s role in families. High birthrates in some countries are linked to cultural norms which often require women to have family and give birth at an early age. In India, for example, young women are considered getting married and having children as their main responsibility even though many of them do not want to. On the other hand, other countries witness a low birth rate because women in these countries tend to delay their role of giving birth. Since these women are often more educated compared to less-developed countries, many aspire to pursue and further their career paths rather than be confined to their traditional role – being a stay at home mom; therefore, many choose to wait until 30 or even 40 to become mothers.

In my opinion, this trend can result in problems for both developed and underdeveloped countries. Countries with high birthrates often have a higher number of poor people. In many underprivileged families, having more children means that parents have to take away their working time to take care of family members, which lessens their income and makes them hardly able to escape poverty. Meanwhile, a lower birth rate can lead to a significant workforce reduction in the near future. Japan, for example, is facing the issue of having labour shortage in agriculture and manufacturing sectors, which somehow affect the development of its economy.