In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is true that now an increasing number of people are suffering from obesity, which leads to the decrease of the public health conditions. There are several causes for this phenomenon and measures can be done to tackle this issue.

Modern lifestyles should be responsible for the increasing obesity rate and worsening public health level. In order to survive in the fierce competition in the workplace, working overtime has become a common thing for people who live in modern society. Consequently, people have less free time, which result in the lack of exercise and the dependence on fast food. People nowadays lead a sedentary lifestyle, however, exercise is essential in maintaining a healthy body. People who lack exercise are at higher risks of catching illnesses or becoming overweight than those who participating in physical activities regularly. Moreover, plenty of people prefer to eat fast food instead of cook at home for the sake of saving time. It is acknowledged that fast food usually contain too much fat, salt and sugar, which can cause obesity.

It is necessary for the government to play an active role in helping people to live a healthy lifestyle. Firstly, laws should be introduced to prohibit the unlimited work overtime, thus, sufficient leisure time for the working people can be guaranteed. Secondly, the government should raise taxes on fast food and reduce taxes on fruit and vegetables in order to encouraging people to eat a balanced diet. Furthermore, healthy lifestyles should be promoted by the government. For example, using celebrities to lead a healthy lifestyle trend might be effective since people tend to imitate the behaviors of celebrities.

In conclusion, the fast paced lifestyle contributes to the rising amount of obesity people and poorer health condition of the public. Nevertheless, this can be coped effectively by implementing measures mentioned by the government.