In some countries the average worker is obliged to retire at the age of 50, while in others is obliged to retire until they are 65 or 70. Until what age do you think people should be encouraged to remain in paid employment?

These days, almost all people strive to earn money in order to need their basic needs. To implement it, they should work. However, since certain age they retire. In some countries retirement age is 50; whereas others require people to work until they are 65 or 70 years old. In my opinion, people should be paid for work as long as they are able to perform their duties properly and retirement should also depend on the kind of work. In this essay, I will make an effort to support my view via some specific examples and reasons.

Firstly, retirement age should depend on the type of work. For example, there might be work which requires physical ability. People starting the age of 60 cannot be as fit as younger workers. Their muscles might not function properly. However, other fields of work may be relevant to older people, such as book-keeper. Thus, the retirement age should differ for kind of work.

Moreover, not all people possess same health conditions. There are some people over 65 that can work even better than the young albeit their age. If a person is fit and healthy it would not be appropriate to retire them and deprive them of their job. So, people should be allowed to work as long as they are fit and healthy which does not depend on age but depends on people.

On the other hand, opponents of this opinion claim that old people had worked for years and may be tired and bored of their work. However, there may be old workers who fulfill their job with great enthusiasm and want to continue to do their job.

To sum it all up, age is not in paramount importance for retirement of people. Instead of retire all people at the same age, the right of choosing own retirement age should be given to people.