In some countries, a foreign language is taught at primary schools. Do the advantages of learning a new language the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language at primary schools is highly encouraged in some nations. This essay will illustrate the merits and drawbacks of studying a different language in addition to the native language.

There are compelling reasons to be acquainted with a foreign language. First of all, one gains enormous wealth of knowledge through learning a new language. A person will have an understanding of another culture and traditions in addition to reading, writing and speaking. Moreover, knowing another language might be helpful while travelling or holidaying. For instance, acquaintance of spoken and written French will be greatly beneficial in navigating Montreal, western Switzerland, Monaco, and other places. Furthermore, there can be enormous employment opportunities as well. For example, Arabic to English translators are in high demand due to the evermore complex geopolitical situation in the Middle East. Therefore, it is imperative for children to learn a different language at primary schools.

On the other hand, there are cons of studying a foreign language. The main disadvantage is the extra time needed to gain expertise in the linguistic capabilities. As they say, time is money. Another drawback is the exorbitant price of a private tutor who might be of utmost importance to provide guidance. For instance, a Spanish teacher’s hourly rate can be upwards of 30 dollars an hour. Finally, knowing a foreign language can be futile if one will not travel to a place where this particular language is in use. Consequently, children at primary schools might be impeded in learning another important subject such as IT or religious studies.