In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think the development is positive or negative ?

Although traffic jam is not considered to be so new a subject for discussion, but there still remains concern that is expressed over such an issue. In particular, some hold an opinion that giving high rate tax during peak hours is the key to solve this problem, and this should be acknowledged as a good way. This way, to my way of thinking, can be reasonable to some extent, but it has drawbacks too.

Indeed, those who choose to be all in favor of the solution mentioned earlier, for definite, can give pieces of evidence and reasons. An undeniable fact is that most people prefer to use private vehicles, and what’s more, there are not enough parking facilities for all owners. Consequently, imposing the congestion charge may discourage people from using their own vehicles, which reduces a great number of cars and motorbikes. As a result, traffic congestion will be eased and it will have a positive impact on the environment. In addition, the government can collect plenty of money and invest into transportation infrastructure such as railways, high ways or mass transit. Thus, it benefits not only the government but also the citizens.

On the contrary, this solution will have a bad influence on people whose public transportation system of their country is underdeveloped. Especially, developing nations like Vietnam, Lao, Cambodia,… can not meet high demands of using means of transportation so the citizens must use their own vehicles. Moreover, public transportation in some countries can not cover both rural and urban areas so people who live in rural ones have to use their motorbikes and cars. If there is a charge for every turns they get into the city, it will place a burden on them.

In conclusion, charging private vehicles has its own advantages and disadvantages as well as not being the most appropriate way so I suppose that the government should take many factors into account and give an answer mixed of many solutions together.