In some countries the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation, and discourages private vehicle ownership. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, it has been reported that higher authorities are encouraging people to use trains or buses rather than their own vehicles for transportation. I strongly argue that the benefits surpass the drawbacks.

One of the cogent merits of being suggested to take advantage of public transport rather than to own a personal vehicle is that the probability of traffic accidents would gradually decrease. A compelling example would be that most vehicle management companies may have to recruit experienced drivers and train them rigorously before they start working to avoid unnecessary risks and ensuring that people's lives would be more secured. Moreover, in some big cities where there are many traffic jams due to the excessive amount of motor vehicles, the policy of using public transport will help people avoid worrying about being late, everyone may move to the same place at the same time, so people here will maintain their lives safe and comfortable.

Another convincing benefit is that using public transports would help reduce environmental pollution. It could decrease the amount of noise affecting citizens when they are living or working, hence bringing tranquility to people, helping them stay focused on the work that has to get done. Furthermore, when the number of vehicles is reduced to a certain extent, the atmosphere becomes fresher..

However, it does seem reasonable that limiting personal vehicle ownership may also lead to negative outcomes. One of which is that it affects the economies of the countries that are facing the trend. A convincing benefit is that if each individual or every family is not allowed to own their own vehicle, the income of the auto industry would shrink, due to the low figure of customers. Furthermore, everyone has different demands and when they are ordered to move to other places, in which public transport is not supported for their sake of working and living such as a narrow alley, it would cause inconvenience for everyone.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the merits of the government encouraging public transit as the major mode of transportation while discouraging private vehicle ownership including the lower possibility of traffic accidents and the better condition of people's living environment, dominate the drawbacks such as lowering the income of the auto industry. However, it is recommended that the government should come up with policies that are suitable for people's lives to avoid bad cases from happening.