In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries around the world, the authorities are looking forward to moving industries and businesses from highly populated cities to provincial areas. Despite some drawbacks, I would argue that there are more benefits.

We would talk about the negative side of this issue first. Indeed relocating companies will have some positive impact but they will have to cope with a decline in the number of qualified workers. To be specific, workers may not want to change their locations to regional areas. For instance, people living in Hanoi center find it inconvenient to move to Son Tay or Phu Xuyen because it is far from their houses. Moreover, businesses may face many challenges in contacting and meeting partners, who will most likely be substituted by other nearby suppliers. For example, in Hanoi, many enterprises are losing customers and clients in the former area when they relocate to Hoa Lac. As a result companies would have to spend a good amount of money to set up these shortcomings before starting their business and this is what most companies would not come to terms with.

On the other hand, there are more advantages to moving industries and businesses outside of crowded cities. Firstly, the labor market in the regional areas will increase when companies open the door of job opportunities for the village people. For example, Samsung Corp moves its business to Thai Nguyen, which is a small city in northern Vietnam and it has recruited thousands of employees in many positions like workers, officers or engineers. Clearly, industries and businesses move to regional areas, which is not only a good way to reduce unemployment but also improve the standard of living of people there. Secondly, workshop building takes up vast areas of land. Meanwhile, each square in the big cities is as precious as gold. In Hanoi, Samsung may have to pay 20 million VND for renting offices while in rural areas, the price is much lower. Lastly, industries should be moved to suburbs because they always produce emissions, which do harm to individuals’ physical health. Some research institutes have proved that people, who live close to the industrial zone within ten kilometers, have a much higher risk of getting cancers.

In conclusion, the merits of this trend certainly surpass its demerits. The relocation not only benefits the company itself but also the people in the suburbs as well as the city.