In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move out of the cities and into regional areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

According to some people bigger companies and industrial sectors should be moved to the rural areas. In my opinion, the benefits of this proposition outnumber the drawbacks.

One significant advantage of moving industries to regional areas is the significant decrease in air, water and noise pollution. In other words, companies and industries produce a lot of by-products as waste. Their proper disposal requires a lot of space which is not readily available in cities. So, if companies are situated in urban areas, they will not be able to treat the waste properly because of space constraints. This will cause pollution in the cities. Since population density in cities is very high, the pollution will affect a lot of people. Since rural areas are less populated, more free space is available there for treating industrial waste. In other words, moving industries to the countryside is a great way to reduce pollution.

Nonetheless, there is a major drawback to moving industries and companies to the suburbs. Industries and companies give employment to many people around the area. If they shift to a farther location, it will lead to unemployment in cities. On the bright side, it will also encourage more people to move to the countryside. Another disadvantage of shifting industries to the suburbs is the decline in productivity because of the delay in getting raw materials. However, with proper planning, these problems can be resolved to a great extent.

To conclude, there are definitely a few disadvantages to moving industries to the countryside – it may create unemployment in cities; however, in my opinion, this move will also make cities cleaner and less congested because it will encourage more people to move to the suburbs.