Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why are these introduced?

Do you think is it a positive or negative development

Nowadays, contemporary times are indeed stressful for both employers and employees. One way out suggested by some nations is to stop professional commitments after some particular period of time. I think it is a win-win for both. This essay will discuss the reasons behind such need and benefits of such implementation to them.

To begin with, when companies like investment bank, information technology etc. expect their employees to put in longer hours, then they are consumed by irresistible addiction of work load, even in this situation the resume of their work has become a major concern as they might be suffering from stress and burnout. Therefore, government and stakeholders are expressing as a part of their intention to regulate and restrict after working hours availability of employees. Moreover, employees feel less job satisfaction in this work place as they find it difficult to fulfill family commitments and switching off from any social activity. Overall, it turns out impairing their productivity which directs impacts the organisation’s profits.

However, I feel this is a positive development, one of the most obvious benefits of restricting work hours that it helps to balance professional and personal life. Thus, it enhances their physical and mental health, but also allows employees to have more time to pursue non work activities. Besides this, other major positive outcome would be results in maximizing efficiency and productivity. As by giving employees clearer stopping in the work days helps to improve the employee’s engagement and tends them to perform better. All in all, it contributes to company’s success. For instance, a survey found that 80% of employees would choose a job that offers restricted schedule over those who did not.

In conclusion, no doubt this development will bring some cons, I feel the idea of curbing overtime will allow a better work life balance for employees and this is something which all nations could achieve now to get benefits from it for large extent.