Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Do you think is this a positive or negative trend?

These days, more and more countries decide to import a barrage of food from other nations in the world. In my opinion, in spite of a minor advantages, particular more products and cheaper prices, I hold a belief that this trend has negative impact on these continents, which are about economy and health.

In the one hand, it is understandable why international importation has been increasingly popular among some nations around the world with many benefits. The first benefit is to get wider variety of food in domestic market. As a result, some fruits and vegetables can only be grown in specific regions. For instance, Cherries are cultivated in South America but Vietnamese people can still enjoy this fresh fruit, thanks to importing. Moreover, the competition of prices between domestic and global production can be extremely fierce. Therefore, buyers may have more options for one item because of the comparison with quality, models and product price.

Nevertheless, in my perspective, the major drawbacks outweigh the advantages including: economy and health. First, the subsequent loss of subsistence farming capacity could lead to import an array of food from global market. If farmers can not maintain agricultural land for cultivating and harvesting, the supply of food product from domestic market can be replaced completely by other countries. The international commerce of this nation will bring a gap from agriculture. Second, imported food is not frequently healthy. As those food materials have to be transported over long distances, they are preserved with the immense support of chemicals to sustain the best quality. Some scientists assumed that compounds from this preservation are able to result in cancer.

In conclusion, although importing food from other countries bring many benefits and should not be disregarded, I still convinced that this trend has more detrimental impacts.