In some countries, it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these view.

Education is an essential part of any person's life. The age of starting the education has always been a debatable issue. As many countries promote younger age, about four years, for starting formal education whereas others think that it should be a little later. I advocate the younger age which is very apt for the children to start studying.

To begin with, initializing education at a younger age has become a necessity for the people because of their hectic lifestyles. Nowadays, both the parents are working in most of the countries and if the child is at home, they have to spare more time for the child compromising their working hours, hence their earnings. If the child goes to the school at the age of four they can have sufficient time for their professional obligations. Moreover, they can reschedule their working hours and concentrate in a better way for the overall development of the child as both the parents can equally participate in the upbringing of the child.

In support of the first view, it has also been proven in many studies that the development of the brain is at the peak till the age of four or five years and the child can, at that age be mentally prepared to learn the formal educational aspects of his life. Besides this, child can develop the habit of memorizing things in a structured method as in formal education in comparison to staying at home and learning.

On the other hand, there are many skeptical views regarding the age of beginning the studies. A child an get ample time for enjoying the childhood before taking any stress of studies. The tender age of child is not fully prepared for handling the challenges, though very minor, during the course of education. Education once started, cannot be left mid-way without completing the formal minimum qualification required for the person to be considered as educated. Therefore, the later, the better.

To summarize, although I believe that formal education should be started at the younger age of for or five as the child can become more self sufficient if he starts learning young but the benefits of starting school at the age of seven or eight cannot be negated.