In some countries, many children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people say it is the responsibility of governments to solve this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that in these days, there are growing concerns over the high rate of obesity in children. Personally, although parents and schools has their own responsibility, i would argue that many policies which should be adopted by authorities to adress this problem.

On the one hand, there is some effective measures which goverments should take to improve matters. Firstly, by introducing retricstion on the establishment of fast food stores located near schools or kindergartens, goverments could partly reduce the consumption of junk foods by youngsters. Secondly, goverments should invest in national TV chanels to make informative programmes in order to raise public awareness of balance diets and healthy lifestyles. Finally, national and local authorities could allocate resources to install essential sport gears in public places such as parks or social and community centers to allow both children and their parents to take regular excercise to maintain physical health and mental well-being.

On the other hand, families and schools should be taken into accountable for preventing obesity in children. In terms of the responsibility of parents, it is clear that parental involvement is essential in controlling eating habits and the amount of time that children can spend on  watching TV and playing electronic games. They might, for instance, set a good example for their children by taking regular excercise, eating healthy meals with low fat and high fibers and not consume junk foods in their families. In addition, parents should make a cutbacks of high calories food in their family meals as well as encourage their children to take part in outdoor activities after school, such as playing football, swimming or basketball and  make new friends with other younsters to prevent a sedentary lifestyle. From the perspective of schools, more nutrient classess should be held for both childrens and parents to help them recognize about the harmful of fast food. Besides, more extra-curricular should be offered to enable children to develop their social skills and improve their physical and mental health.

In conclusion, i concur with those who believed that in addition to the responsibility of family and school, goverments have partly duty to alleviate the problem of obesity and unhealthy lifestyle in children.