In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

One- person household is becoming increasingly fashionable today. People have sparked off a heated controversy over whether it is good or bad. In my opinion, this trend exerts a double- edged impact on the society, which I will discuss below.

Regarding the advantages, it is acceptable that one- person household benefits not only individuals but also the economy. Indeed, people living alone need to equip themselves with many essential skills, such as cooking, washing clothes or managing their budget. As a result, without assistances of their flatmates or relatives, a person is more likely to be independent and self- reliant. On the other hand, from an economic perspective, the rising number of household is a powerful motivation for development, thanks to it urgent demand on real estate and utilities. This is also the reason explaining a period of growing prosperity for many industries, like construction or real estate.

However, the influences of one- person households can be considered from the opposite angle. To be more specific, the trend towards living alone is jeopardy with person who suffers from health problems like cardiovascular diseases, epilepsy or asthma, etc., which may lead to lack of self- control in several emergency situations, and, in addition, a serious consequence as they are not supported by others. Turning to economical aspect, the growing number of people willing to live alone creates a great demand on accommodation that the infrastructure may find challenging to satisfy, as we see in many metropolitans, for example, London, Tokyo or Rio de Janeiro. As a result, the living cost will gain so highly that people may be unable to afford.

To sum up, the trend towards living alone is beneficial for the society thanks to offering worth of skills and motivation for thriving. In contrast, its negative effect should not be overlooked. Living alone is still reccommended, provided that people have enough skills and potential.